Malahide Castle, Dublin, Ireland – Saturday 21 June 2008

The second concert of the European Summer Tour was a big adventure for those who attended: a lot of rain and power failures during the concert!

Review by Patrick Mulder:

What a night! It could have been a nice venue, if it had not been raining so much! The band came on stage at 8 o’clock and played for nearly 2 hours.
The concert itself was fantastic, great playing by Eric. Nearly every song was a highlight! I really like the new rhytm section, it sounds very powerful. A big surprise was that “Little Wing” was replaced by “Isn’t It A Pity”. I was happy “Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad” was still on the set list, Eric played a great solo on it too.

Eric’s solo on Layla was fabulous, as far as I could hear it: there was a major power failure! Not on stage, so the band was still playing and had not idea what was going on. Then someone of the crew came on stage to tell Eric about it. The band kept on playing Layla till the power came back, which took about 4 minutes. During the encore the same happened, again no problem on stage so they kept on playing. I don’t think they even noticed that we only heard one third on the “Mojo”!

Set list:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Isn’t It A Pity
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Double Trouble
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Driftin’
09. Rockin’ Chair
10. Motherless Child
11. Travellin’ Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. Got My Mojo Working (with Robert Randolph)

The band:

Doyle Bramhall II (guitar/vocals)
Chris Stainton (keyboards)
Willie Weeks (bass)
Abe Laboriel Jr.(drums)
Sharon White (backing vocals)
Michelle John (vocals).