Eric Clapton – Hallenstadion, Zurich – Wednesday 20 August 2008

Though not as strong as last night’s performance in Wiesbaden, tonight’s concert in Zurich was still very good. Eric surprised everyone by playing Help Me, a Sonny Boy Williamson / Willie Dixon classic instead of Drifting. Isn’t it a Pity was reinstated, but Got to Get Better in a Little While remained. On Got to Get Better, Eric tried to get drummer Abe Laboriel, Jr. to take a solo. Abe declined, but Willie Weeks accepted, continuing the tradition of the 2006/7 tour.

Other highlights included Here but I’m Gone, Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad, Layla, and Cocaine.

For the encore, Crossroads, Eric invited Jakob Dylan to join the band. Jakob sang the first few verses and Eric and he shared the mic for the final verse.

The band:

Doyle Bramhall II (guitar/vocals)
Chris Stainton (keyboards)
Willie Weeks (bass)
Abe Laboriel Jr.(drums)
Sharon White (backing vocals)
Michelle John (vocals)

Set list:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Here But I´m Gone
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Isn’t It A Pitty
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Help Me
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Motherless Child
11. Travellin’ Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Got To Get Better In A Little While
14. Little Queen Of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. Crossroads – with Jakob Dylan

Jakob Dylan