Eric Clapton – Arena Leipzig – Tuesday 12 August 2008

Photo: Leipzig Live

Tonight Eric and the band played the first of the four German concerts in Leipzig, Germany. It was extremely hot in the hall, and at first it looked like the concert would be the same as in Iceland. The first song of the concert, “Tell The Truth” didn’t sound too exciting. But from then on the concert was fantastic, highlights of the concert were “Hoochie Coochie Man”, “Here But I’m Gone” (one of the best versions I have heard so far, 2 fantastic solo’s by Eric – 10 mininutes long version ) and “Little Queen Of Spades” (great solo by Chris Stainton).

The band:

Doyle Bramhall II (guitar/vocals)
Chris Stainton (keyboards)
Willie Weeks (bass)
Abe Laboriel Jr.(drums)
Sharon White (backing vocals)
Michelle John (vocals).

Set list:

01 Tell the Truth
02 Key to the Highway
03 Hoochie Coochie Man
04 Here But I’m Gone
05 Outside Woman Blues
06 Isn’t It A Pity
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Driftin’
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Motherless Child
11. Travellin’ Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen Of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. Crossroads

” Here But I’m Gone”